About us

Federazione Lombardia per l'Ambiente - Chi siamoFondazione Lombardia per l’Ambiente (Lombardy Foundation for the Environment, FLA) is a “nonprofit scientific foundation” established in 1986 by the Lombardy Regional Council after the dioxin emission accident which occurred at the ICMESA plant near Seveso in 1976.

In more than 20 years of activity, FLA has acquired a wide-ranging environmental knowledge, which has strictly focused on major environmental protection topics and has allowed FLA to promote and complete a great number of projects: these achievements have gained FLA its current role as a leading institution in research and promulgation on a regional and national level.Learn more about our mission and what we do.


FLA Organizational Structure

Fla Administrators:

  • President
  • Board of directos
  • Board of Auditors

The President is assisted by the Boards of Directors in supporting the completion of FLA’s programs, activities and results dissemination, while staff offices are coordinated by a panel of experts chosen among leading scientific researchers in each issue. The Board of Directors is also assisted by a Science Advisory Board to superintend research programs.

The following offices within FLA support the mission of FLA and daily operations:

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is currently made of 12 members:

  • three are appointed by the Lombardy Regional Council (including the pro tem Mayor of Seveso);
  • Other members of the BoD are two Rectors (or their delegates) of the following five Universities: Università degli Studi di Milano, Politecnico di Milano, Università degli Studi di Pavia, Università degli Studi di Milano Bicocca and Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore.

The Board of Directors is appointed by Decree of the President of the Lombardy Regional Council.

Current membership: the Board of Directors

  • President: Matteo Fumagalli
  • Vice President: Gabriele Lanzani
  • Fabio Rugge, Rector of Università degli Studi di Pavia
  • Roberto Zoboli, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore
  • Paolo Butti, Mayor of Comune Seveso

Current membership: the Board of Auditors

  • Dott. Antonino Ferraro
  • Dott. Massimo Mustarelli
  • Dott. Antonio Pogliaghi 

Deputy Auditors:

  • Dott.ssa Gloriana Villa


Appointed by the Board of Directors

  • Fabrizio Piccarolo

Current membership: the Science Advisory Board

  • Prof. Antonio Ballarin Denti - President -  Università Cattolica del Sacro cuore di Brescia - C.R.A.S.L. Centro di ricerca per l'Ambiente e lo Sviluppo Sostenibile della Lombardia
  • Prof. Marzio Galeotti - Università degli Studi di Milano
  • Prof. Marino Gatto - Politecnico di Milano
  • Prof. Valter Maggi - Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca
  • Prof. Pierluigi Malavasi - Università Cattolica Sacro Cuore
  • Prof. Sergio Riva- C.N.R. Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
  • Dott. Bruno Ziglioli - Università degli Studi di Pavia

The Science Advisory Board’s mission is to advise the Board of Directors on relevant scientific matters, review and superintend research projects and programs covering FLA’s research fields and set guidelines to help FLA outline its 5-year Strategic Plan.


Chief Science Advisor

Antonio Ballarin Denti, Chair of the Division of Mathematics and Physics and Professor of Envinronmental Physics at the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Brescia.